Styles of Kimono vol.01 "CLASS - Wear according to TPO"

Styles of Kimono vol.01 "CLASS - Wear according to TPO" - KUDEN by TAKAHIRO SATO
Kimonos can be classified into four main categories according to their “rank.”
There are “礼装(formal wear)," which is worn on the most formal occasions, “準礼装(semi-formal wear)," which is equivalent to formal wear and can be worn on a wider range of occasions, "盛装(dress-up wear)," which allows you to express your personality in a more fashionable way, and "普段着(everyday wear)," which can be worn casually on a day-to-day basis.

【礼装(formal wear)】

礼装, also called first formal wear, is the most highly classified type of kimono.
Uchikake worn at weddings are formal attire worn only by brides, while black Tomesode, colored Tomesode, and honfurisode are formal attire for celebratory occasions.
Mourning attire is the formal attire for mourning.
The reason why families wear black Tomesode at weddings is generally because "weddings are the highest ceremonial occasion to wear the highest formal attire."

【準礼装(semi-formal wear)】

略式礼装 ( Short-form formal wear ) , known as 準礼装 ( semi-formal wear ), is the second most prestigious type of kimono after formal wear.
It can be worn in a wide range of formal occasions.
Houmongi, Tsukesage, and Montsuki (kimono with a kimono crest) are also classified as semi-formal wear.

【盛装(dress-up wear)】

礼装 ( formal wear ) and 準礼装(semi-formal wear) is worn at weddings, funerals, and public events, whereas 盛装(dress-up wear) is intended for parties and other festive occasions.

【普段着(everyday wear)】

Kimonos for casual wear on outings are called "everyday wear."
Komon, Omeshi, and Tsumugi are classified as everyday wear, and it is not recommended to wear them to formal occasions.

Did you know this information?
Surprisingly, there are many things in the world of kimono that even Japanese people do not know.
We will continue to share information with you!

Kimono Beginner's Note